Teaching

Advanced Graphics & Geometry Processing

Instructors: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Michael Wand
Shortname: 08.079.4512
Course No.: 08.079.4512
Course Type: Vorlesung/Übung

Requirements / organisational issues

The lecture uses methods form the course "Modelling 1". Equivalent Knowledge in basic numerical mathematics and / or physical modeling might also be a sufficient basis. Knowledge in computer graphics is very useful, but not mandatory (there will be a crash-course at the start of the lecture).

Digital teaching

The lecture will be offered in either virtual or in-person format, depending on circumstances at the time the lecture starts. The following web page provides updated information

https://luna.informatik.uni-mainz.de/3dworlds-2122/

(The page will go online in early October).

Recommended reading list

announced during the lecture

Contents

The lecture addresses high-quality and scalable 3D rendering, as well as data-driven 3D modelling techniques. Time permitting, we will look into procedural modeling approaches, too.

Topics:

  1. Global Illumination algorithms
  2. Scalable rendering methods for large scenes
  3. Data driven Modelling of geometry, lightning and materials
  4. Time permitting, a short intro to procedural and inverse-procedural (data-driven procedural) methods.

Dates

Date (Day of the week) Time Location
10/21/2021 (Thursday) 16:00 - 18:00 04 224
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
10/28/2021 (Thursday) 16:00 - 18:00 04 224
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
11/04/2021 (Thursday) 16:00 - 18:00 04 224
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
11/18/2021 (Thursday) 16:00 - 18:00 04 224
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
11/11/2021 (Thursday) 16:00 - 18:00 04 224
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
12/02/2021 (Thursday) 16:00 - 18:00 04 224
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
11/25/2021 (Thursday) 16:00 - 18:00 04 224
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
12/09/2021 (Thursday) 16:00 - 18:00 04 224
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
12/16/2021 (Thursday) 16:00 - 18:00 04 224
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
01/06/2022 (Thursday) 16:00 - 18:00 04 224
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
01/13/2022 (Thursday) 16:00 - 18:00 04 224
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
01/20/2022 (Thursday) 16:00 - 18:00 04 224
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
02/03/2022 (Thursday) 16:00 - 18:00 04 224
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
01/27/2022 (Thursday) 16:00 - 18:00 04 224
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik