Teaching

Modellierung mit gewöhnlichen Differentialgleichungen

Instructors: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Peter Spichtinger
Shortname: 08.079.790
Course No.: 08.079.790
Course Type: Vorlesung/Übung

Requirements / organisational issues

Prior knowledge:
Lectures on analysis and linear algebra, e.g. Mathematics for Physicists 1 and 2.

Digital teaching

The lecture takes place in presence.

Contents

In this lecture an overview of modeling with ordinary differential equations is given. Based on many examples from the natural sciences (physics, chemistry, biology), important approaches to modeling are presented, including the analysis of the underlying equations. Besides theory and examples, numerical methods for solving the differential equations are presented.

The following contents are treated:

- The role of models in the natural sciences (possibilities and limitations)
- Important examples from physics (cloud models), chemistry (cyclic reactions), biology (population dynamics, infection models)
- Important theorems from the theory of ordinary differential equations (existence/uniqueness)
- Analysis of dynamic systems (fixed points, limit cycles, bifurcations, stability)
- Asymptotic analysis (model reduction)
- Numerical methods for solving differential equations (finite differences, finite elements, spectral methods)

Dates

Date (Day of the week) Time Location
10/20/2021 (Wednesday) 12:00 - 14:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
11/03/2021 (Wednesday) 12:00 - 14:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
11/17/2021 (Wednesday) 12:00 - 14:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
12/01/2021 (Wednesday) 12:00 - 14:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
12/15/2021 (Wednesday) 12:00 - 14:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
01/12/2022 (Wednesday) 12:00 - 14:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
01/26/2022 (Wednesday) 12:00 - 14:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
10/29/2021 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
10/22/2021 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
11/05/2021 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
11/12/2021 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
11/26/2021 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
11/19/2021 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
12/03/2021 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
12/10/2021 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
12/17/2021 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
01/07/2022 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
01/21/2022 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
01/14/2022 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
01/28/2022 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik
02/04/2022 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00 04 426
2413 - Neubau Physik/Mathematik